I wish you enjoy this great poem of Szymborska!

TO MY HEART ON SUNDAY

Thank you , my heart:
you don’t dawdle, you keep going
with no flattery or reward,
just from inborn diligence.

You get seventy credits a minute.
Each of your systoles
shoves a little boat
to open sea
to sail around the world.

Thank you my heart:
time after time
you pluck me, separate even in sleep,
out of the whole.

You make sure I don’t dream my dreams
up to that final flight,
no wings required.

Thank you my heart:
I woke up again
and even though it’s Sunday,
the day of rest,
the usual preholiday rush
continues underneath my ribs.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

